October 27, 29, 30 and 31, 2021, 20:30

The event season Great Orchestras-Great Maestros begins this year with the legendary pianist and conductor Daniel Barenboim and the Staatskapelle Berlin, one of the best orchestras in the world, that will present in parallel the four Symphonies by Robert Schumann and the equal number of Symphonies by Johannes Brahms over four nights at the Athens Concert Hall.

Through this cycle of symphonies, the award-winning conductor and the historical European ensemble honor in their own musical way two of the most important figures of romantic music, but also an important anniversary for the Athens Concert Hall; the completion of 30 years since its foundation.

Detailed programme:

Wednesday 27.10, 20:30

Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 1 in b flat major, opus 38, “Spring” (30′)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 1 in c minor, opus 68 (48′)

Friday 29.10, 20:30

Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 2 in c major, opus 61 (40′)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 2 in d major, opus 73 (40′)

Saturday 30.10, 20:30

Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 3 in e flat major, opus 97, “of the Rhine” (35′)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 3 in f major, opus 90 (33′)

Sunday 31.10, 20:30

Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 4 in d minor, opus 120 (32′)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 4 in e minor, opus 98 (42′) 

Share it!