The Ministry of Culture and Sports announces the competition of the State Awards for the Writing of Theatrical Works for the year 2022, with the aim of strengthening and promoting the Greek Theatrical Works, based on article 41 of Law 3905/2010 and no. YPPOA/183191/21.04.2022 (ID: 9Π3Y4653Π4-LKL) issued Ministerial Decision. The competition includes the following prizes:

1. State Prize for Writing a Playwright’s Work 1.
The following is the first stage playwriting competition.
The prize money: EUR 7,000.

2. State Prize for Children’s Playwriting.
Anyone can submit a play to this competition.
Prize money: EUR 5,000

3. State Prize for Young Playwrights “Chrysa Spilioti”.
Only young playwrights can participate in this competition.
The concept of a new playwright includes those whose play has not previously been published, published, taught on stage or formed the core of a film or television work, as well as those who have previously submitted their work to other competitions of any public or private body.
Prize money: EUR 5 000.

In each of the above competitions, the competent committee may award a Commendation to a work that has not been awarded a prize but is distinguished for its boldness and innovation.

General conditions of the competition:

1.Deadline for submission of projects is Friday 24 June 2022.

2.Type and specifications of submitted projects

Submitted works can belong to all genres of dramatic art. All types of plays may be of any genre. They must be written directly in Greek (and not translated into Greek).

3.Method of submission

a. Works are submitted to the Department of Theatre and Dance of the Ministry of Culture and Sports (1 Rethymno 1, P.C. 10682 Athens, office 208). Projects submitted by fax or e-mail will not be accepted.

b. Projects shall be submitted as follows:

  • under a pseudonym in five typed copies,
  • with a choice of Times New Roman, Calibri or Arial font,
    in size 12,
  • ink colour exclusively black and binding (hot glue or spiral)c.Each author is entitled to submit only one work and to only one of the competitions announced. If more than one work is submitted, the submitted works will be disqualified.

    d. Works will not be returned.

    4. Supporting documents
    Application form of the interested party clearly indicating the competition in which it is participating (attached application form for participation in the competition).

    The application form must be signed under a pseudonym and accompanied by a sealed envelope containing only the following:

    a) A correspondence page with the author’s real details (full name, patronymic, active e-mail address, postal address and contact telephone number).

    Any indication on the application form or copies of the work of the real name and not the pseudonym is a reason for invalidating the participation in the competition.

    b) A declaration of responsibility according to Law 1599/86, certified or issued by, which will be enclosed in the sealed envelope and will clearly state the text specified:

    “At my own risk and knowing the penalties provided for by the provisions of par. 6 of Article 22 of Law 1599/1986, I declare that:
    I unreservedly accept all the terms of the competition, as well as declare that the submitted work is original, has not been edited, published, taught from the stage or formed the core of a film or television work, and that it has not been previously submitted to other competitions of any public or private body. The work I have submitted under the pseudonym “…………………………” is entitled “……………………………..”.

    If this statement is found to be false, this will be grounds for disqualification from the competition.

    1.Announcement of the winners

    a. The works will be evaluated by the competent Committees of the Ministry of Culture and Sports. Each committee will formulate its decision in a separate protocol.
    The announcement of the prizes will be made in July 2023.
    With the announcement of the prizes, a reasoned report of the Committee, stating the rationale for the award and the opinion of the minority, if any, will be published and posted on the website of the Ministry of Culture and Sport.

    b. The awarding of the State Prizes for the Writing of a Theatrical Work shall take place within the framework of the State Literary Awards ceremony.

    c. The winning plays are forwarded by the Department of Theatre and Dance of the Ministry of Culture and Sports to the Artistic Directors of the National Theatre and the State Theatre of Northern Greece for investigation of their possible inclusion in the artistic programming of these theatresd.

d.Companies of the independent theatre that include in their repertoire works that have been awarded the State Prize for the Writing of a Theatrical Work may be subsidized by the Ministry of Culture and Sports for the production of these works under the terms of the applicable programmes.

e. The competent Directorate of the Ministry of Culture and Sports is responsible for maintaining a detailed database accessible on the Internet with a complete list of the awarded plays, their summaries and biographical data of their authors, which is systematically updated.

Information and clarifications on the competition will be provided on the following telephone numbers:

210-8201735 and 210-8201722.

photo source: